Witch's Moon Calendar

As old ways witches we utilize elemental forces for magick and mystical significance of the natural world and its fauna and flora along with esoteric knowledge, lore of healing, protective herbs, natural poisons, psychoactive plants, energetic resonance of roots, and of course, the moon. 

The moon is of key importance for the witch. The phases of the moon and its cycle impact the potency of the spellwork and its success. Performing a ritual during the improper phase of the moon will not lead to disastrous effects, rather it will hinder the fruition of the outcome. The moon amplifies spellwork and works in harmony with the energies exerted by the witch. 

An old ways witch does not follow the exact terminology and specifications of modern astrologers and astronomers. We maintain the visual interpretation and energies of the moon, therefore our spellwork is similarly aligned.

Some things to keep in mind: 

If you are unable to align your spellwork with the date a good rule of thumb is to perform the spell the night before. For example, if you are planning to perform a spell for attracting financial prosperity into your life but the moon is Full during an inconvenient time (say, 10am on a Tuesday while you're at work), I advise you to perform it the night before. As the moon grows full, so too will your access to the energies that are harmonizing the manifestation of your spell. Same applies to Dark Moon for banishing and curses.

​The Witch's New Moon is when the very crescent of the moon is visible, which is the evening on or between the two dates listed. 

January 2020
Full Moon: January 10, 2020 11:21am PST / 7:21pm UTC

Dark Moon: January 24, 2020 1:42pm PST /9:42pm UTC
Witch's New Moon: January 26th-27th, 2020 

February 2020

Full Moon: February 8, 2020 11:33pm PST / February 9, 2020 7:33am UTC
Dark Moon: February 23, 2020 7:32am PST / 3:32pm UTC
Witch's New Moon: February 25th-26th, 2020 

March 2020
Full Moon: March 9, 2020 10:47am PST / 5:47pm UTC

Dark Moon: March 24, 2020 2:28am PST / 9:28am UTC
Witch's New Moon: March 25th-26th, 2020  

April 2020
Full Moon: April 7, 2020 7:35pm PST / April 8, 2020 3:35am UTC

Dark Moon: April 22, 2020 7:25pm PST / April 23, 2020 3:25am UTC
Witch's New Moon: April 24th-25th, 2020 

May 2020
Full Moon: May 7, 2020 3:45am PST / 11:45am UTC

Dark Moon: May 22, 2020 10:38am PST / 6:38pm UTC
Witch's New Moon: May 24th-25th, 2020 

June 2020
Full Moon: June 5, 2020 12:12pm PST / 8:12pm UTC

Dark Moon: June 20, 2020 11:41pm PST / June 21, 2020 7:41am UTC
Witch's New Moon: June 22nd-23rd, 2020 
Note: Based on your location, many will not see the first crescent of the Witch's New Moon until June 24th. 

July 2020
Full Moon: July 4, 2020 9:44pm PST / July 5, 2020 5:44am UTC

Dark Moon: July 20, 2020 10:32am PST / 6:32pm UTC
Witch's New Moon: July 22nd-23rd, 2020 

August 2020
Full Moon: August 3, 2020 8:58am PST / 4:58pm UTC

Dark Moon: August 18th, 2020 7:41pm PST / August 19, 2020 3:41am UTC
​Witch's New Moon: August 20th-21st, 2020 

September 2020
Full Moon: September 1, 2020 10:22pm PST / September 2, 2020 6:22am UTC

Dark Moon: September 17, 2020 4:00am PST / 12pm noon UTC
Witch's New Moon: September 19th-20th, 2020
Note: Based on your location, some will see the first crescent of the Witch's New Moon as early as September 18th.  

October 2020
Full Moon: October 1, 2020 2:05pm PST / 10:05pm UTC

Dark Moon: October 16, 2020 12:31pm PST / 8:31pm UTC
Witch's New Moon: October 18th-19th, 2020
Full Moon Samhain: October 31, 2020 7:49am PST / 2:49pm UTC
The Samhain Full Moon will not reappear until 2039! 

November 2020
Dark Moon: November 14, 2020 9:07pm PST / November 15, 2020 5:07am UC

Witch's New Moon: November 16th-17th, 2020
Full Moon: November 30, 2020 1:29am PST / 9:29am UTC 

December 2020
Dark Moon: December 14, 2020 8:16am PST / 4:16pm UTC

Witch's New Moon: December 16th-17th, 2020
Full Moon: December 29, 2020 7:28pm PST / December 30, 2020 3:28am UTC


Witch's Dark Moon (no moon is visible): when the moon cannot be seen and is in the dark phase, this is referred to as the Dark Moon by the old ways. Modern astronomers and astrologers call this darkness the New Moon, because the cycle of the moon is about to restart.

The Witch's Dark Moon is a night of stillness, contemplation and banishment. The only types of spellwork that should be done on the Dark Moon is banishment work or curses/hexes. The Dark Moon is also ideal for all types of divination, as well as working with the departed. 

The moon is energetically at its lowest point and is is more conducive to the mentioned spellwork. 
Witch's New Moon (when the first crescent is visible, increases to Full Moon):  The New Moon of the old ways is when the very first crescent or sliver of the moon is visible. ​This is typically 2-3 nights after the Dark Moon.

The Witch's New Moon is the ideal time to begin spellwork that draws a life experience, physical possession or situation to you. This can be for love, money, health or personal development. 

Spells are best performed for 3-12 consecutive days. This is what leads to powerful, lasting and measurable results. Starting candle burning rituals 3 night after the Dark Moon will give you exactly 12 days of spellwork, leading up to the Full Moon.

It is also the ideal time to begin a new venture, get married, apply for a job or embark on a journey.

The same energetic attributes apply throughout the Waxing Moon, all the way up to the Full Moon.


Full Moon:  The Full Moon is not only the most magickally potent and powerful time of the month, but it is also the most physically stimulating. As the moon affects the ocean tides, so too does it affect our bodies. If you pay close attention to your body, you may have noticed that on the mornings leading up to the full moon and a couple of days thereafter, you may feel extra swollen or puffy. These are the days of maxi dresses, undereye concealer and perhaps an inclination to wear less rings on your fingers.
If you have been performing spellwork leading up to the Full Moon, consider the night of the Full Moon the climax of your ritual. 

This is the night that gives any spell the extra boost into manifestation. The Full Moon is best used to draw something into you life, such as love, financial prosperity or self-development. 

If, however, you are choosing not to perform any magick on the night of the Full Moon, simply sitting under the moon rays and energetically absorbing the magnetism will reawaken and enliven your spirit. 


Waning Moon (decreases back to Dark Moon): As the moon wanes, the energy becomes particularly effective for ending various relationships, habits and overcoming hurdles. 

Whether you're having a difficult time leaving an unsuitable relationship or are trying to quit smoking, the Waning Moon is perfectly capable and willing to help you align with your greater good. 

In addition to removing negative influences from your life, this is also an appropriate time to cast curses or revenge spells (if needed). 

The Waning Moon reminds us of things yet to be done and that time is slipping away. Anxiety is usually heightened during this time, therefore self-care is especially important. 

Picture Waning Moon

PictureFull Moon

PictureWitch's New Moon

PictureDark Moon